Ballot Places Drawn, Announced

Jan 5, 2018

There was a drawing for the places on the ballot held on Monday morning, Dec. 18, 2017 at the Delta County Clerk’s office following the deadline to be on the election ballot on Dec. 11, 2017.

Running for Delta County Judge will be incumbent Jason Murray, who will be listed first on the ballot, against Bonnie Hobbs, who’s currently serving as Delta County Treasurer.

The office of Justice of the Peace is incumbent Ginny Phifer and former JP Chuck Reed, all listed in this respective order.

Running for Delta County Precinct 2 Commissioner is incumbent Gary Anderson being challenged by Jimmy Sweat, who is also a Pct. 2 employee; and Precinct 4 is Republican Jack Brandon against incumbent Mark Brantley, on the Democratic ticket.

Debbie Huie, who is currently employed as an Administrative Assistant at the Courthouse, is running unopposed for treasurer.

Incumbent Jane Jones, running on the Democratic ticket, is also running unopposed for Delta County Clerk.

Performing the drawing as a neutral party was Cooper Review staff writer Kalynn McKee.

Republican County Chair will be Joe Adams. Precinct Chair will be Carol Beth King for Precinct 4 and Phyllis London for Precinct 3.

Early voting will be Feb. 20-March 2 with a Primary on Tuesday, March 6, 2018. If there is a need for a run-off election that will be May 22. The Election will be Nov. 6, 2018.