Greenville library receives award

Greenville – Greenville's W. Walworth Harrison Library has been awarded the 2009 Achievement of Excellence in Libraries Award.

The award, presented by the Texas Municipal Library Directors Association, is one of only 33 received in 2009, out of 565 public libraries statewide.

The W. Walworth Harrison Public Library demonstrated excellence in all 10 areas required to qualify, including a comprehensive summer reading program, service to underserved populations, cultural programming, literacy support, developing partnerships for enhanced service delivery, and maintaining a comprehensive online presence.

Library Director Paul Phelan, along with City Staff, Friends of the Library and Library Board Members were recognized by the Greenville City Council at the regular meeting Tuesday evening.

"This award is a great honor for our library and several staff members and board members are to be commended for their contributions to the quality of library services offered to Greenville residents," said Phelan.

Members include: Marcia Adams, Sue Campbell, Nicole English, Evan Etheridge, Kim Lackey, Steve Combs, Brent Walton, Denise Donnenwerth, Maggie Denmark, Robert Rhone, Stephanie Hartline, LaJeana Jackson, Lisa Magenheimer, Sylvia Rodriguez, & Carol Taylor, Bob Jordan and Cheryl Warden.