© 2023 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Two more schools plan to withdraw from LSC

By Scott Harvey

Richardson – More shakeup in the Lone Star Conference, as two more North Division teams have announced places to withdraw from the league.

In a statement issued Sunday, LSC Commissioner Stan Wagnon said he's been notified that Northeastern State University and the University of Central Oklahoma will be leaving the conference.

Per LSC membership policy, the withdrawal shall become effective June 30, 2012.

Recently, East Central University, Southeastern Oklahoma State University and Southwestern Oklahoma State also announced plans to withdraw.

Reports indicate they're now looking to form a new conference with Division II schools in Arkansas to reduce travel.