© 2021 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
88.9 KETR's Fall 2021 Pledge Drive is underway - click here to show your support!

Nine local offices among thousands to be studied


By Scott Harvey

– Nearly a dozen area post offices are in jeopardy of closing following Tuesday morning's announcement by the U.S. Postal Service they may close 1 in 10 retail outlets.

The financially-troubled agency announced that it will study 3,653 local offices, branches and stations for possible closing.

Earl Artis is a spokesman for the US Postal Service in Texas. He says for the smaller offices, they'll be determining that facility's impact on the community, its employees, and whether there is alternative access in the vicinity, or so-called Village Post Offices.

"A retail outlet, a grocery store, a drug store, an office supply/warehouse supply place; some other institution that is now working with the Postal Service to offer products and services."

Nine local post offices will be studied, all of which serve rural communities. They include three in Lamar County, two in Delta and Fannin County, and one in Hopkins and Red River county.

Overall, more than 200 Texas post offices will be studied. Currently the post office operates 31,871 retail outlets across the country.

"Some of offices on the list are offices that are actually open for just two hours a day," Artis said. "When you're in our financial situation, you've got to take a look at such offices and see if we can continue to serve customers but close offices of that size."

Artis added that in most cases where an office is open for as little as two hours a day, there are no more than two employees for that facility.

Once an office is selected for a review, people served by that office will have 60 days to file their comments. If an office is to be closed, they will be able to appeal. A list of offices locally and statewide to be studied are available at ketr.org.

Area outlets to be studied:

Lamar County:

Fannin County:

Delta County:
Pecan Gap

Hopkins County:
Sulphur Bluff

Red River County:

A complete list of Texas offices to be studied is available at http://about.usps.com/news/electronic-press-kits/expandedaccess/states/texas.htm