Mt. Moriah Baptist Church hosts MLK awards

Jan 19, 2015

Mount Moriah Baptist Church hosted the Hunt County African American Leadership Conference’s 2015 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Awards Ceremony on Jan. 18 in Commerce.

Rev. Peter Johnson of Dallas, a former associate of King, delivered the afternoon’s keynote address. Johnson participated in the Southern Christian Leadership Conference as a student activist in the 1960s and continues similar work today with the Dallas-based Institute for Nonviolence.

Rev. Peter Johnson, State Rep. Dan Flynn and Pastor Larry Dixon were among local and area leaders participating in the 2015 Hunt County African-American Leadership Conference Awards Ceremony.
Credit Mark Haslett / KETR

Local speakers and presenters included Jason Cunningham. Rev. Cordell Jackson, T.J. Hilburn, Harry Turner, State Rep. Dan Flynn, Commerce Mayor John Ballotti, Noah Nelson, LaVelle Hendricks and Rev. Larry Dixon.

Award recipients included:

Spiritual Award: Douglas Raine

Political Award: The Honorable Judge Andy Bench

Education- Jeanne Lay and Deanna Hays 

Doctor of the Year: Dr. Greg Hulsey

Spirit of Service: Charlotte Spence-Scott

Choice of Excellence: T.J. Hilburn

Faithfulness: Bill Relford

Business: Lulu’s Burgers

King’s Kids: Noah Howell

First Responders: Cameron Foster and Scott Yowell

Law Enforcement: Angella Price

Spirit of Commitment: Erica Contreras

MLK Scholars (Commerce ISD): Kassady Todhunter, Madison McCracken, Trey Grubert, Samuel Raseberry

MLK Scholars (Texas A&M University-Commerce): Kenneth Riffe and LaTisha Hearne

Social Change: Clothe-A-Child

Legacy of the King: Daniel J. Perkins

Pastor of the Year: Jeff Johnson

MLK Teachers of the Year:  Nancy Hill, Wanda Beane, Tracy Crews, Matt Brewer

Church of the Year: Bread of Life

Spirit of Dedication: Bobby Holder

Family of the Year: Kerry and Tracy Crews

Evangelism: Dwight King

Employer of the Year: Texas A&M University-Commerce

Visionary Award: Dina Sosa

Loyalty: Michael Beane and Kathleen Hooten

MLK Humanitarian Award: Commerce Community Cares

MLK Media: John Mark Dempsey

MLK Man of the Year: Willie Blow

MLK Woman of the Year: Betty Casselberry

MLK Citizen of the Year: Paul Voss

MLK People of the Year: Stacy Jackson, Deryck Crosby, Rhenda Hines, Cynthia Potter, Danny Crosby, Starlin Reynolds, Mona Beacham

MLK County Award: Fred Farley

Spirit of  Valor: Ted Oats

MLK Volunteer Persons of the Year: Toys for Tots

MLK Employees of the Year: Linda King, Ludonna Smithers and Alicia Currin

MLK Lifetime Achievement Award: Billy Reed, Dr. Bob Johnson and Tony Henry