© 2023 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
This page curates KETR's news stories related to Texas A&M University-Commerce.

University's Fore in elite company

ADDISON - Former A&M-Commerce Lions wide receiver Taylor Fore was among nine college scholar-athletes honored Monday night at the National Football Foundation (NFF) Gridiron Club of Dallas’ annual banquet.

Named the Lone Star Conference Academic Player of the Year, Fore joined his brother Marcus on the Capital One Academic All-District IV team in 2011. The Fort Worth, Texas, product tied the school's single-season receptions record as a senior, hauling in 58 catches for 561 yards and two touchdowns while earning Honorable Mention All-Lone Star Conference honors. He also served as the team's punt returner, taking back 17 punts for 149 yards. For his career, Fore ranks fourth in school history with 125 catches for 1,549 yards with six touchdowns.

Fore currently serves as associate director of development in the Department of Advancement at A&M-Commerce.

Held at the Marriott Quorum in Addison, the nine athletes honored Monday join the 58 high school scholars previously announced.

"These college scholars represent the absolute cream of the crop in college athletics. Their will to succeed is clear in all areas of their lives, and this recognition is a direct spotlight on their incredible hard work and leadership skills," said Gerald Brence, president of the NFF Gridiron Club of Dallas and athletics director for the Plano Independent School District.

The event showcased the stories of excellence in football, academics and leadership in North Texas and was intended to inspire future student-athletes to succeed in the classroom and become more involved in their communities. The event also paid tribute to several outstanding individuals for their contributions to the game and the North Texas region.

Longtime Dallas Cowboys vice president of player personnel Gil Brandt accepted the Distinguished Texan Award, the gridiron club's most prestigious award. Other awards announced included the Legends Award, the Athletics Director of the Year, the Steve Storie Official of the Year, and the high school coaches and assistant coaches of the year.

The nine scholar-athletes were selected as the best from the entire region at the collegiate level for their combined achievements as students, athletes and leaders in their respective communities. The selection committee included coaches, teachers, administrators and business leaders from the North Texas area.