© 2024 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Six Flags Over Texas Ceases Flying Non-U.S. Flags

The five non-U.S. flags that have flown at the Arlington park since 1961 are now part of history.

Six Flags Over Texas, the Arlington-based amusement park whose very name has sought to pay tribute to Texas' multi-sovereign history, announced Friday that it will no longer fly non-U.S. flags.

When the park opened on Friday morning, it flew six U.S. flags. Until Friday, and since 1961, the park flew flags representing those nations that ruled sovereign over Texas: the United States, France, Spain, Mexico, the Republic of Texas, and the Confederate States.

Six Flags Spokeswoman Sharon Parker told TV station WFAA in Dallas that the park strives "to make people happy and to create a fun, thrilling and safe family friendly experience for our guests." Under that mission, she said, Six Flag is opting to celebrate "the things that unite us versus those that divide us."


Scott Morgan has been an award-winning journalist since 2001. His work has appeared in several newspapers and magazines as well as online. He has also been an editor, freelancer, speaker, writing teacher, author, and podcaster.