© 2023 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

A&M-Commerce football honors

By Bill Oliver

Commerce, TX –

The Texas A&M University-Commerce football team has received multiple honors from the Lone Star Conference.

Head coaches in the north division of the conference chose 12 members of the Lions football team for first team conference honors, six on offense and six on defense.

Linebacker Garnet Smith was chosen for the second straight year. Joining Smith were defensive teammates Marcus Smith, A.J. Johnson, Faoki Fifita, Elliot Jones, and Alex Contreras. First team selections on offense were Nabil El-Amin, Deveon McKinney, Luis Salazar, JaMichael Palmer, and Darron Sheppard. Second team selections were Terry Mayo and Daniel Swaim and Trae Grimes was an honorable mention selection.

Palmer was named receiver of the year, Sheppard co-offensive lineman, Marcus Smith defensive lineman, and Chris Miller co-freshman of the year.

For the fourth time this year, Swaim was named conference special team's player of the week for his punting performance in the Lions' final game of the season at Southwestern Oklahoma.

More information on the Lions all-conference selections can be found on the university's athletic website, lion athletics.com.