© 2023 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Field set for area school board elections

By Scott Harvey

There are multiple candidates for voters in area school districts to choose from on May 9.

Five candidates are pursuing two positions on the Commerce School Board. A new Board of Trustee will emerge regardless of the winner, as long time member Debbie Aikin announced earlier this year she will not be seeking a sixth term. Randy Starks, Emma Martin and Elva Resendez are each vying for the position. For Place 7, it'll be Hector Arce against incumbent Medley Wilson.

In Greenville, Incumbent Charles Sivley and Leah Tillotson are the only two to file for the board. Sivley represents District 7, while Tillotson represents District 5. If there are no write-in candidates by March 16, the board is expected to cancel the election.

Four candidates have filed for two positions on the Lone Oak ISD board. Incumbents Terry Gipson and Wayne Burton are seeking re-election, and challengers are Jeremy McClanahan and Paul Kelley.

Quinlan ISD voters will choose four trustees. Incumbents Kevin Fritch, Michelle Harrison, Kenny Stone and Todd Darter are seeking re-election. Challengers are Paula Reeves, Sherri Bostick, Dale Sikorsky and J.R. Watson.

Wolfe City ISD voters will choose two trustees. Candidates are: Incumbent Maxine Haywood, Jack Hale, Clay Henslee, Carrie Northcutt and Sandra Murphey.

Three candidates are competing for two positions on the Caddo Mills ISD board. Incumbents Jeremey Coddington and Keith Hopkins are seeking re-election, while Lee Swafford is trying for a place on the board.

Voters in Celeste ISD will choose three trustees from a pool of 10 candidates. Candidates are: Incumbent Jeffrey Babers, Carol McCaslin, Brad White, Brian Thompson, Dale Gibson, Mike Wilson, Marty Burke, Dob Gilliam, Jeff Frasier and Shawn Stubblefield.

Boles ISD and Bland ISD are not holding trustee elections in May.

Over in Hopkins County, the Sulphur Springs ISD has only two candidates to have filed, incumbent Don Sapaugh and Jason Dietze. Dietze is running for the spot currently held by Judgy Gillem, who is not seeking re-election.

In Bonham, incumbent Dr. Randy McBroom has filed for re-election for Place 1, and Monica Kissling for Place 2. Each candidate is unopposed. If no one files as a write-in candidate by Monday, the election will be cancelled.