© 2021 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
88.9 KETR's Fall 2021 Pledge Drive is underway - click here to show your support!

UIL Redistricting set for today


The next two years of UIL districts and classifications will be released today. Many area schools are on the cusp of changing classification and will discover their fate today, while teams across the state will find out who their main rivals will be for the next two seasons.The UIL announced reclassifications and district alignments for the next two years today.

A look at some of the area schools that have seen some classification changes:

Dallas Carter elevated to 5A by request

McKinney Boyd, Rockwall Heath new to 4A
Dallas Samuell, Denton Ryan, Lewisville The Colony, Richardson Pearce moved from 5A to 4A
Lindale elevated from 3A to 4A

Frisco Wakeland new to 3A
Fort Worth Diamond Hill-Jarvis, Mabank moved from 4A to 3A
Celina, Prosper elevated from 2A to 3A

Farmersville, Pottsboro, Tatum, Winnsboro moved from 3A to 2A
Big Sandy, Bogota Rivercrest, Harleton, Melissa elevated from 1A to 2A

Greenville Phoenix Charter new to 1A

Some of the district realignments affecting area schools and teams:

In 4A: District 10 will have Greenville, Highland Park, Forney, Poteet, Terrell, West Mesquite, Richardson Pearce (which moved down from 5A), and new to 4A Rockwall-Heath.

District 11 will have Sulphur Springs, Paris and North Lamar, Mount Pleasant, Texarkana Texas, and Lindale (up from 3A).

In 3A: We have Commerce in District 10 with Emory, Nevada Community, Quinlan Ford, Royse City and Wills Point.

In 2A: District 12 is Caddo Mills, Lone Oak, Scurry-Rosser, Palmer, Edgewood, and Dallas Life Oak Cliff; with Dallas Faith Family and Irving North Hills playing only basketball.

District 13, Farmersville, Leonard, Melissa, Anna, Blue Ridge, and Aubrey; with Krum and Ponder in basketball.

Cooper is in District 15-2A with Honey Grove, Clarksville, Bogota Rivercrest, De Kalb, Paris Chisum, and Pattonville Prairieland; with Mount Pleasant Chapel Hill in basketball.

In 1A: Wolfe City will be in District 17 with Cumby, Quinlan Boles, Celeste, Fruitvale, and Dallas A+.

Click here to go to the University Interscholastic League website, and learn more.