© 2023 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Early voting begins today in May 6 city and school district elections

Monday Morning Newscast Graphic
Lindsey Wiley
Texas A&M University-Commerce

Bonham, Caddo Mills, Paris, and Wolfe City voters will select candidates for both municipal and school board offices.

Early voting in municipal elections begins today across Texas. Election Day this spring is Saturday, May 6. Not all local jurisdictions will be having elections this spring. Only those cities and school districts with vacant offices or ballot measures will be having elections.

In Hunt County, elections for city government offices will be held in Caddo Mills, Celeste, Greenville, Hawk Cove, Poetry, Union Valley and Wolfe City. Hunt County school districts holding elections include Caddo Mills, Campbell, Community, Quinlan and Wolfe City.

In northeastern Hopkins County, the community of Dike will hold an incorporation election and a city commission election. The Sulphur Springs and Como ISDs will be electing trustees. The city governments of Sulphur Springs and Como have canceled plans for city council elections, as the only candidates to file for vacant seats were unopposed.

In Fannin County, municipal offices will be contested in Bonham, Ector, and Ladonia. Fannin County school districts having elections include Bonham, Honey Grove, and Savoy.

In Lamar County, city government elections will be held in Blossom, Paris, and Reno. School districts in Lamar County having elections are Chisum, North Lamar, Paris, and Prairiland.