© 2023 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Fate, Rowlett council places up for grabs


Two city council places are contested in the Rockwall County community of Fate's election on May 11.

Voters in Fate will select city councilmen in Saturday's vote, although one of the seats is uncontested.

Place 1 will go to either Jim Thornhill or Lorne Magyesi, while the winner of the race between Forest Murley and Cameron Cowan will take the Place 5 council seat. John Stacy is running unopposed for Fate's Place 3 seat on the council.

Elsewhere in Rockwall County, no county-level offices appear on this year's ballots, although the Rockwall and Royce City school districts will be electing board members.

Check here to find your voting location for Rockwall County elections.

Also, Rowlett City voters will be participating in Dallas County's election. Information for Rowlett voters can be found here.

Rowlett's mayor, Todd Gottel, will be running unopposed, but three contested council races will be determined. Pauline Dedrick, Pam Bell and Tammy Dana-Bashain are running for Place 2. City council Place 4 will go to either Debby Bobbitt or Arian "Brownie" Sherrill. The Place 6 council seat will be won by either John Spor or Michael Gallops.

There's also a ballot measure before Rowlett voters involving amendments to the city's charter. Those amendments are explained in an informational flyer published by the city.

Mark Haslett has served at KETR since 2013. Since then, the station's news operation has enjoyed an increase in listener engagement and audience metrics, as well recognition in the Texas AP Broadcasters awards.