© 2022 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Early voting has commenced

On November 3rd, Texans will be voting on 7 amendments to the state's constitution.
Cindy Roller
Cooper Review

Early voting has begun and continues through May 5 for the May 9, 2015 election.

The election to legalize the sale of beer and wine for off-premises only in Delta County, Texas will be held on May 9, 2015. The City and School will be having their elections but the County’s election is separate. Residents in the County can vote, whether residing in the City or County.

The early voting location can be done in the County Clerk’s Office through May 5, 2015 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Locations are as follows:

Precinct 1 - New Life Baptist Church, 628 FR 1528, Cooper, Texas 75432

Precinct 2 - Consolidated with Box 5

Precinct 3 - Delta County Civic Center, 221 E. Bonham, Cooper, Texas 75432

Precinct 4 - First Baptist Church, 500 E. Dallas Avenue, Cooper, Texas 75432

Precinct 5 - Klondike Community Center, 5518 FR 1528, Klondike, Texas 75448

Precinct 6 - Consolidated with Box 10

Precinct 7 - Enloe Community Center, 87 CR 4330, Enloe, Texas 75441

Precinct 8 - Consolidated with Box 7

Precinct 9 - East Delta Community Center, 78 CR 1220, Lake Creek, Texas 75450

Precinct 10 - Pecan Gap Community Center, 100 3rd Street, Pecan Gap, Texas 75469

Jane Jones, Delta County Clerk, 200 West Dallas Avenue,Cooper, Texas 75432

The City of Cooper will retain Mayor Scotty Stegall for another term as he remains unopposed throughout his elected career. Other candidates on the ballot for the City of Cooper will be Donna Thomason, Larry Maynard and incumbent E.J. Cates running for the two open positions on the Council.

The City of Pecan Gap will also be under the same leadership with Mayor Warner Cheney. Council Alderman Jerry Park is unopposed and will remain in office while John Moss has opted not to file, Jack Kiley has filed for his position.

For the Cooper Independent School District Board of Trustees Darren Braddy and Jeff Phifer are both unopposed for their full term positions. Running for the one unexpired term formerly held by Danny Wall will be Mandy Freeman, Monty Hobbs and Glen Holt.

Early voting dates will be April 27-May 5 at the administration office on McKinney Street, jointly with the City of Cooper. On Election Day Saturday, May 9 voting will take place at City Hall on the North Side of the Square in Cooper.