© 2024 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Cooper ISD Honors Student Leaders

Hannah Foster and Lane Blakley were honored by CISD Trustees for the Lonestar Leadership Academy.
Cindy Roller
Cooper Review
Hannah Foster and Lane Blakley were honored by CISD Trustees for the Lonestar Leadership Academy.

Cooper Independent School District Board of Trustees recently honored Lane Blakley and Hannah Foster for their achievement in the Lonestar Leadership Academy. Cooper Junior High Principal Julie Silman was very proud to honor the duo and sees continued excellence in their future. Blakley and Foster were selected to attend the Lonestar Leadership Academy along with 1,200 other students participating, who were chosen for academic excellence and leadership abilities. They attended the academy, which was a trip to Houston/Galveston. Principal Silman said the students who were accompanied by their families were given the opportunity to experience Texas sites like NASA, San Jacinto Battle Grounds, Moody Gardens.

The Cooper ISD Board of Trustees also approved the hiring of two teachers (who had already been employed in other capacities by the District). Colton Ingram and Janice Pickles will be formally working full time teaching positions on the campuses.

“Both are certified and highly qualified teachers,” said Cooper ISD Superintendent Denicia Hohenberger. “Both are currently working for us in an aide or substitute capacity and doing a great job.”

Ingram has been working with Cooper students since this summer and will be (indirectly) replacing Alec Bryant, who was the head baseball coach.

“We look forward to current staff member, Ty Huie, taking on that role [as head baseball coach] while Ingram assists in Huie's former position,” explained Superintendent Hohenberger. “Janice Pickles, replacing Wendi Miller, has been doing great work with our pre-k and Head Start students since the beginning of the school year. She comes to us with positive experience working with children in public schools as well as church program director positions. We look forward to continued great things.”

“These have been amazing opportunities. They have visited PJC, North Texas Community College, and Austin College,” said Principal Julie Silman on the tours. “We were even treated to free ice cream at Austin College which was a big win in their eyes.”

“Dr. Lavelle Hendricks from Texas A&M University in Commerce came and gave a wonderful presentation on drug abuse, kindness and compassion,” said Cooper Elementary Principal Lynn Byrd, happily.

The Delta County Appraisal District Board nominations were discussed. Currently serving is Alan Beeler and Thomas Darden. The nominations will still have to be voted on by the involved entities. Nominated were Thomas Darden, Jason Murray, Shawn Murray, Alan Beeler. It was motioned by member Mandy Freeman and seconded by Lea Waller into acceptance.

The next school board meeting will be Monday, Oct. 23 at 5:30 p.m. at the Administration Office on McKinney Avenue in Cooper.

Related Content