© 2022 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Monroe defeats incumbent Strait to win Hunt County Precinct 2 GOP runoff

Texas Primary Runoff Voting Results.png

David Monroe will be the new Hunt County Precinct 2 county commissioner starting in 2023. Monroe defeated incumbent Precinct 2 commissioner Randy Strait by a margin of about 16 points in Tuesday’s primary runoff elections.

Monroe won by a 825 to 595 vote margin (58.10% to 41.90%). Monroe will not face a Democratic opponent in November and will assume office on Jan. 1, 2023.

Strait won a plurality of votes in the March 1 GOP primary with 42.9% of the vote, finishing ahead of Monroe (22.6%), David McNabb Jr. (21.36%), and Tod McMahon (13.85%). In Texas, when no candidate wins a simple majority, the top two finishers compete in a runoff election.