© 2023 88.9 KETR
Header Image 10-22.png
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
88.9 FM broadcast antenna upgrades are underway and will affect the ability to tune into the station for the duration. Our programming continues, however, via our live stream at ketr.org, on TuneIn radio, via the NPR app, and at Apple Music.

Area school boards to cancel May 9 elections

By Scott Harvey

The Paris Independent School District has gone ahead and declared its next term's Board of Trustees, after both candidates failed to receive opposition in their respective races.

School board members Monday voted unanimously to reappoint Incumbents George Fisher for Place 1, and Dave Eisele for Place 6, therefore cancelling its May 9 election.

Elections are also scheduled to be cancelled soon in other area school districts.

The Greenville ISD anticipates declaring its lone candidates winners Tuesday night. Incumbent Charles Sivley and Leah Tillotson were unopposed for Places 7 and 5, respectively.

School Board Candidates in Bonham are also unopposed for the May 9 election. Incumbent Dr. Randy McBroom, and Monica Kissling are each to be declared the winners of Places 1 and 2, when the board cancels the election Monday night.

Only two individuals had filed for the Sulphur Springs School Board, incumbent Don Sapaugh and Jason Dietze are both seeking at-large positions. The election, however, will not be cancelled due to a bond issue appearing on the ballot.

There will be an election for the Commerce ISD. Five candidates are pursuing two positions on the School Board. Randy Starks, Emma Martin and Elva Resendez are each vying for the position. For Place 7, it'll be Hector Arce against incumbent Medley Wilson.