© 2024 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Dozens honored during MLK Awards Ceremony

Iovry Moore addresses the audience after receiving the Legacy of King Award Sunday.
Photo by Jerrod Knight
Iovry Moore addresses the audience after receiving the Legacy of King Award Sunday.

COMMERCE - Former Commerce Mayor and university employee Ivory Moore was presented with the Legacy of King Award during the Hunt County African American Leadership Conference’s annual awards ceremony. 

Moore was among dozens of Hunt County leaders and community members recognized Sunday in honor of the late Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. The ceremony is now in its 21st year. Over 40 awards were handed out in the event which featured Keynote Speaker Frank Ashley, vice chancellor of the Texas A&M University System.

Faye Adair was given the Spiritual Award, the Political Award went to Sue Davis, Gene Castleberry was named MLK Citizen of the Year and the MLK People of the Year Award was presented to Early Childhood Intervention. 

A complete list of awards recipients is below and pictures from the event are at our facebook page.

The East Caney Missionary Baptist Church, in conjunction with the Hopkins County African American Leadership Conference, will hold its annual awards ceremony at 7 p.m. Monday at the Morning Chapel Missionary Baptist Church, 208 Fuller Street in Sulphur Springs.

Additional awards from Sunday are as follows:

Roz Lane—Visionary Award

Eddie Payne—Loyalty Award

Julia Robinson—Education Award

Pastor Cecil R. Jones—Spirit of Service Award

Dr. James Nicholson—Medical Award

Dr. Shannon Carter—Chose of Excellence Award

George Henry—Faithfulness Award

O’Reilly’s Auto Parts—Business Award

Connie Wilburn—Encouragement

Jackie and Guy Morriss—Spirit of Honor and Dignity Award

Kate Mangual—King Kids Award

Chase Ballard—Law Enforcement Award

Lawrence Neal—Spirit of Commitment Award

Sam Brown –Spirit of Fellowship Award

Jerry Speight—Social Change Award

Pastor Wesley Pierce—Legacy of King Award

Datoryna Jonson—Youth of the Year Award

Valarie Englert—Pastor of the Year Award

Commerce Middle School—Music Award

Bread of Life Church of the Nazarene—Church of the Year Award

Harry and Mary Turner—Family of the Year Award

Mildred Gatlin—Evangelism Award

Latson Printing—Employer of the Year Award

Medley Wilson—MLK City Award

KETR—MLK Media Award

Jim Bob Latham—MLK County Award

Barbary Wilburn—Spirit of Dedication Award

Crisis Center of Northeast Texas—Humanitarian Award

Celva Giddens and Marc Clayton—MLK Employees of the Year Award

Charlene Crosby—MLK Woman of the Year Award

Dr. Dan Jones—MLK Man of the Year Award

Burt Cooper—Promise Lane Award

Tony Norman—Spirit of Land Award

Willie Blow—Spirit of Dependability Award

Carolyn Trezevant—Volunteer of the Year Award

Alfreda Linson—Encouragement Award

Schelly Porter-Achievement Award

John Jackson and Donna Gosbee (Texas A&M-Commerce) – MLK Scholars Award