© 2022 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Storm victims offered relief through SBA

Forney1Small - NWS.jpg
Photo by the National Weather Service
A residence in the Diamond Creek Subdivision in Forney

A handful of local counties are among 13 in North Texas for whom the federal government is offering low-interest disaster loans.

Small business Administration Administrator Karen Mills announced the disaster designation Tuesday, which came following a request from Gov. Rick Perry following the April 3 tornadoes and other storms that damaged the region.

Residents and business owners in Collin, Hunt, Kaufman, Rockwall and Van Zandt counties are included in the offer. Low-interest disaster loans are also available in Dallas, Tarrant, Denton, Ellis, Henderson, Johnson, Parker and Wise counties.

The filing deadline for property damage is June 18, while the deadline to return economic injury applications is Jan. 17.

Information is available from 800-659-2955. You can also email SBA or visit their website.The deaf or hard-of-hearing may call 800-877-8339.