© 2024 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Cooper ISD's Darden to serve on TASB Legislative Advisory Council

COOPER - Thomas Darden, president of the Cooper ISD Board, was recently one of five school board members from around the state selected to represent his respective region in the Texas Association of School Board’s Legislative Advisory Council.

The LAC is made up of representatives from each of the state’s 20 education service centers.

Darden was elected last week at the LAC’s second meeting, when the group helped meld the regional priorities identified during the TASB Grassroots Meetings into one statewide priority statement. The statement will be reviewed by the TASB Board and ultimately approved by the TASB Delegate Assembly in September to become part of TASB’s Advocacy Agenda.

Darden will serve as alternate. Cooper ISD is part of the Region 8 Education Service Center, which is made up of schools from 11 Northeast Texas counties.

Also elected last week were Bryan ISD’s David Stasny (Region 6), Dan Mossakowski from Frisco ISD (Region 10), Robstown ISD’s Osvaldo Romero (Region 2) and Hilda Garza-DeShazo of the McAllen ISD (Region 1).