© 2023 88.9 KETR
Header Image 10-22.png
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
88.9 FM broadcast antenna upgrades are underway and will affect the ability to tune into the station for the duration. Our programming continues, however, via our live stream at ketr.org, on TuneIn radio, via the NPR app, and at Apple Music.

Sources: Former Longhorn RB to play for Lions

Dallas Morning News

Texas A&M University-Commerce Lion football fans might see a new, yet familiar face on the team this season.

The Dallas Morning News is reporting that former University of Texas running back Joe Bergeron has transferred to A&M-Commerce.

Bergeron had recently been cut by UT head coach Charlie Strong for an "unspecified violation" of team rules, the report said.

The senior, a North Mesquite High School alumnus, was Texas' third leading rusher last season with 362 yards and 4 rushing touchdowns.

Bergeron had been in talks with Tarleton State and West Texas A&M, but a source close to the family told the UT athletics blog Orangebloods.com that he feels good about enrolling at A&M-Commerce.

In 2013, A&M-Commerce finished last in the Lone Star Conference in rushing yards per game, with an average of 72.2 yards. The Lions were led in individual rushing by freshman Ki-Janaven Garrett, who finished with 723 yards (60.2 per game).

Daniel was born and raised in Commerce, TX, and has been a life-long listener of 88.9 KETR. After listening to ‘The Art of Sound’ with Mark Chapman as a child, he enjoyed the thought of being able to broadcast across NE Texas. He is now a Radio/Television student at Texas A&M University-Commerce and hopes to continue his work in radio after he graduates. He has been heard in the past as the host of ‘All Things Considered’, ‘Movie Picks with Alice Reese’ and ‘The Morning Bell’.
Mark Haslett has served at KETR since 2013. Since then, the station's news operation has enjoyed an increase in listener engagement and audience metrics, as well recognition in the Texas AP Broadcasters awards.