© 2024 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Dietze crowned new Dairy Festival royalty

Sidney Dietze began her reign as the 2015 Hopkins County Dairy Festival Queen last Saturday night as Madison Rater, daughter of James and Shelley Rater, passed the crown at the “Just Moo It” themed pageant completing the weeklong event at the Regional Civic Center Auditorium.

Dietze is the 17-year old daughter of Jason and Jill Dietze and was sponsored by the Dial Study Club. She received a $1,000 scholarship, pewter tray and a dozen red roses. Dietze sang “Oceans,” made popular by Hillsong United as her talent. 

First runner up went to Taliana Bell, daughter of Melissa Bell and sponsored by Sulphur Springs Dodge Jeep, as she received $750 scholarship, a pewter tray and six red roses. Second runner up winner was Meichell Arnold, daughter of Benjamin and Veronica Arnold and sponsored by the Junior Waverly Club, receiving a $500 scholarship, pewter tray and a trio of red roses. Miss Congeniality was Samantha Buck.

Master of Ceremonies was Jeff Harris. Providing entertainment for the evening was the vocal stylings of Mike Dodd. Parade Marshals was the Bryant and Marilee Fisher family.

The week includes activities such as the 56th Annual Dairy Festival Parade, Texas State Champion Homemade Ice Cream Freeze-Off, Dairy Airs Hot Air Balloon glow, 5K Milk Run, Milking Competition, Carnival and Pageant with Coronation.

Hopkins County Dairy Festival Board of Directors President Pam Black presented fellow board member Lynda Hager, Co-Pageant Director/Treasurer with her recognition of her years of service. Officers are: President Pam Black, Vice President Missy Caddell, Secretary Cindy Lancaster, Co-Pageant Director/Treasurer Lynda Hager, Co-Pageant/Reporter Patrick Chase, Balloon Rally Chairman David Black, Hospitality Gena Prickette and Public Relations Carolyn McKinney.

Board of Directors include: Mary Campbell, Patrick Chase, Holly Fain, Lonnie Fox, Sheilah Hale, Johanna Hicks, Jason Jones, David Larkin, Frannie Miller, Tom Miller and David Watson. Associate members are: Bruce Fielden, Terry Blount, Tracy Fox and Mario Zillarino.

Related Content
  • The Hopkins County Dairy Festival started last Friday, June 12 and runs Saturday, June 20. The theme for this year is “Just MOO It!” It began with events…