© 2022 88.9 KETR
ketr-org-header-image-2021.png
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations
News

Child Passenger Safety Week observed, National Seat Check set for Sept. 19

Canon Artho is properly secured in his car seat.
Leigh Ann Artho
/
Cooper Review

Texas Department of Transportation will be hosting a free child safety seat check from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Saturday, Sept. 19 at 1365 North Main Street in Paris.

According to the National Highway Safety Administration it is estimated that roughly three of every four child safety seats are not used correctly or not used at all.

The Department of Motor Vehicles explains the current car seat laws:

Any child under 8 years old must be secured in a federally approved child car seat while operating the vehicle, unless the child is more than 4'9" tall.

Use the following guidelines when buying a car seat for your child:

  • Birth – 1 year old and up to 35 pounds:
    • Use a rear-facing seat suitable for your child's height and weight.
    • Make sure you check the height and weight capacity of your car seat and follow the installation and operating instructions carefully.
  • 1 year old–4 years old and 20 pounds–40 pounds:
  • Use a forward-facing seat for as long as is recommended by the manufacturer.
  • Use a booster seat.
  • 4 years old–8 years old and over 40 pounds:

Failure to secure your child in an appropriate child car seat in Texas can result in a fine of up to $25 for the first offense and up to $250 for subsequent offenses.
Child Passenger Safety Week will be observed Sept. 14-19 and National Seat Check Saturday is set for Sept. 19 all over the country.

“We have trained employees who can perform seat inspections,” said Tray Turner, TxDOT traffic safety specialist based in Paris in a recent press release. “They have had four days of intense training and are certified by the state.”

If the child is unavailable, caregivers can bring their child, the child’s weight and height information, car seat, and vehicle to the inspection site for proper fitting. For more information, call TxDOT Traffic Safety Operations in Paris at (903) 737-9292.

Texas Department of Transportation will be hosting a free child safety seat from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Saturday, Sept. 19 at 1365 North Main Street in Paris.

According to the National Highway Safety Administration estimates that roughly three of every four child safety seats are not used correctly or not used at all.

The Department of Motor Vehicles explains the current car seat laws:

Any child under 8 years old must be secured in a federally approved child car seat while operating the vehicle, unless the child is more than 4'9" tall.

Use the following guidelines when buying a car seat for your child:

  • Birth – 1 year old and up to 35 pounds:
    • Use a rear-facing seat suitable for your child's height and weight.
    • Make sure you check the height and weight capacity of your car seat and follow the installation and operating instructions carefully.
  • 1 year old–4 years old and 20 pounds–40 pounds:
  • Use a forward-facing seat for as long as is recommended by the manufacturer.
  • Use a booster seat.
  • 4 years old–8 years old and over 40 pounds:

Failure to secure your child in an appropriate child car seat in Texas can result in a fine of up to $25 for the first offense and up to $250 for subsequent offenses.
Child Passenger Safety Week will be observed Sept. 14-19 and National Seat Check Saturday is set for Sept. 19 all over the country.

“We have trained employees who can perform seat inspections,” said Tray Turner, TxDOT traffic safety specialist based in Paris in a recent press release. “They have had four days of intense training and are certified by the state.”

If the child is unavailable, caregivers can bring their child, the child’s weight and height information, car seat, and vehicle to the inspection site for proper fitting. For more information, call TxDOT Traffic Safety Operations in Paris at (903) 737-9292.