© 2024 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Candidates File for City and School

Voting finished for the City of Cooper and Cooper ISD on May 5, 2018.
Cindy Roller
Cooper Review

The City of Cooper ordered an election for Saturday, May 7, 2016 for open positions on the City Council. Three seats are up for reelection at that time: JoAnn Preas, David Phillips and Willie “Bear” Wilkins. These three incumbents and one other new candidate, Amanda L'Esperance, have filed.

Voting will take place on Saturday, May 7, 2016 from 7 a.m. till 7 p.m. at Cooper City Hall, 91 North Side Square, Cooper.

Early voting will be held at the Cooper ISD administrative office located at 350 W. McKinney from Monday, April 25, 2016 through Tuesday, May 3, 2016.

Extended voting hours for April 25 and May 3 will be from 7 a.m. till 7 p.m. and voting on the other early voting days will be from 8 a.m. till 4 p.m.

Filing for the three full three year terms of the Cooper ISD Board of Trustees are incumbents Kregg Slakey, Mandy Freeman, along with candidates Jennie Pickering, Lea Waller and Laura Gillean. The election will be held in coordination with the City of Cooper.

Cooper ISD Trustees also approved the hiring of Dennis Powers for the computer teacher position.

“We believe Mr. Powers will complement our current staff and bring to the table varied experiences in the technical field ranging from aeronautics to computer software and hardware work,” said Cooper ISD Superintendent Denicia Hohenberger. She stated is currently teaching computer programming at Longview Middle School.