© 2023 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Delta Co. Constable Race Headed For Runoff

Ryan Brown and Dawn Stewart report and post the election night results on the wall at the Delta County Courthouse.
Cindy Roller
Cooper Review

After a lengthy delay due mainly to paper ballot counting on four of the boxes in Delta County at approximately 10:45 p.m. the suspense was cut Tuesday night. Unofficially there will be a run-off election for the position of Constable with no one candidate receiving 51 percent of the votes. Candidate Marshall Lynch received 554 votes for 47.07 percent while incumbent Ben Snow had 406 for 34.49 percent followed by Rickey Click getting 217 for 18.44 percent.

Delta County Commissioner Precinct 1 race went to Eric Lair with 235 votes for 54.40 percent to incumbent Rip Templeton’s 197 count for 45.6 percent both of the Republican party.

For Precinct 3 Commissioner contest Republican Bobby Asbill received 144 votes for 54.96 percent to Monty Hobbs’ count of 118 for 45.04 percent. Asbill will face Democrat David Mims, who received 44 votes, in the general election for the Precinct 3 Commissioner seat in Delta County.

Uncontested races included Delta County Attorney Jay Garrett (with 1,004 votes), Sheriff Ricky Smith (with 1,086) and Tax Assessor-Collector Dawn Stewart (with 1,087 votes).

More updates will be posted as available.