Delta County Declares Emergency Burn Ban
On Thursday morning, Feb. 2, 2017 Delta County Judge Jason Murray declared an emergency burn ban due to current fire danger conditions. It will take effect at noon today.
He was approached by Pecan Gap Volunteer Fire Chief Jack Kiley with the request which shall be implemented for a seven-day period, as allowed by the Texas Government Code. There have been an increased number of recent fires requiring numerous fire departments to control and extinguish.
Fines for burning during this period could be up to $500.
In a release from the County Judge’s office, the Delta County Fire Departments would like to emphasize that the current windy and dry conditions still linger in Delta County, and it is important to remember at any time a fire is started on a property and extends to another adjoining property, causing any damage, the owner of the originated property can be fined up to $500. The property owner can also be held responsible for any damages that occur to the adjacent property.
Toll-free Arson Hot Line is 1-800-364-3470.
There are a few exceptions to the prohibition of outdoor burning. Those include firefighter training, campfires and cooking fires are allowed, with no practical alternative – crop residues may be burned for agricultural management, domestic waste can be burned on the property it was produced but only with exclusive permission, a county or municipal government may request burn approval and prescribed burns to manage forests. For more information visit Texas A&M Forest Services website at http://texasforestservice.tamu.edu/
Neighboring Hunt County is also currently under a burn ban. Hopkins County is not currently under a burn ban but depending on the weather will likely address the issue on Monday.
It is advised to inform local fire departments and the sheriff's office prior to starting any controlled burns.