© 2023 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
This page curates KETR's news stories related to Texas A&M University-Commerce.

Lions land three on Daktronics All-Super Region Four teams

Lion Athletics

Three Lions have been named to the Daktronics All-Super Region Four team, announced Dec. 5. Junior defensive end Charles Tuaau was named a first team selection with junior wide receiver Vernon Johnson and senior defensive end Tevin Moore earning second team recognition.
Tuaau made quite an impact for Texas A&M University-Commerce in his first season in Commerce,  and his presence hasn't gone unnoticed. Tuaau was named both the Lone Star Conference's J.V. Sikes Defensive Player of the Year and Defensive Lineman of the Year after tallying 51 total tackles, 22.0 tackles for loss and 12.5 sacks in 2013. Tuaau led the Lone Star Conference in both tackles for loss and sacks, ranking sixth nationally in both categories, and is a nominee for the 2013 Cliff Harris Award, honoring the top defensive player in the nation representing NCAA Division II, Division III and NAIA schools, after setting the program records for tackles for loss in a game (5.0), tackles for loss in a season (22.0) and sacks in a season (12.5).
Johnson was another breakout star for A&M-Commerce as the Fort Worth native was named the Lone Star Conference's Receiver of the Year after rewriting the Lion record book. Johnson set the program single-season record for catches (69), receiving yards (1,345), receiving yards per game (134.5) and receiving touchdowns (13), leading the LSC in each category. Johnson eclipsed the 100-yard receiving mark in eight of the 10 games he played in with four touchdown strikes of 65-yards or greater. He also proved to be a dual threat for A&M-Commerce as he returned 14 kickoffs for 493 yards (35.2 avg.), leading the Lone Star Conference in all-purpose yards per game with 183.3 en route to earning a pair of All-LSC honors.
Moore had his most productive season in a Lion uniform, leading A&M-Commerce in tackles (70) and solo tackles (39) while tying for the team-high in sacks (12.5) and ranking second in tackles for loss (21.0). Moore ranked among both the Lone Star Conference and national leaders in both sacks and tackles for loss, earning him a first team All-Lone Star Conference selection, building on his honorable mention selection as a freshman in 2010. He set the program record for sacks in a game with 3.0, accomplishing the feat twice, while tying his partner in crime Tuaau for the program record in sacks in a season with 12.5.
The trio were part of a great Lone Star Conference representation as 19 LSC players were named to the All-Region team, including 10 on the first team. West Texas A&M had the most selections of any conference school with nine, including the offensive Player of the Year in quarterback Dustin Vaughan. Midwestern State placed five on the squads with Tarleton State and Angelo State each having one representative.
Tuaau, Johnson and Moore all played a key role in helping A&M-Commerce to its first winning season since 2001 as the Lions made one of the most dramatic turnarounds in the country, improving from 1-9 in both 2011 and 2012 to 7-4 in 2013. A&M-Commerce received an invitation to play in the Live United Texarkana Bowl, its first postseason opportunity since 1995. The game will take place at 6 pm on Friday, Dec. 13.

2013 Daktronics All-Super Region Four Teams

Offensive Player of the Year: Dustin Vaughan - West Texas A&M
Defensive Player of the Year: Darius Allen - Colorado State-Pueblo

First Team Offense
QB - Dustin Vaughan - West Texas A&M
RB - Glen Clinton - Chadron State
RB - Keidrick Jackson - Midwestern State
WR - Torrence Allen - West Texas A&M
WR - Jeff Janis - Saginaw Valley State
TE - Jamie Potts - Grand Valley State
OL - Matt Armstrong - Grand Valley State
OL - Jake Brandt - Ohio Dominican
OL - Craig Watts - West Texas A&M
OL - Terrance Harris - West Texas A&M
OL - Bryan Keith - West Texas A&M
RS - Nathan Slaughter - West Texas A&M
PK - Sergio Castillo - West Texas A&M

First Team Defense
DL - Darius Allen - Colorado State-Pueblo
DL - Ethan Westbrooks - West Texas A&M
DL - Charles Tuaau - A&M-Commerce
LB - Taylor McCuller - West Texas A&M
LB - Jake Edmiston - Colorado Mesa
LB - Marquis Wadley - Tarleton State
LB - Brian Johnson - Saginaw Valley State
S - Curtis Slater - West Texas A&M
S - Justin Bell - Ohio Dominican
CB - Neiko Conway - Midwestern State
CB - Michael Brady - Colorado Mesa
P - Brandon Kleisen - Colorado State-Pueblo

Second Team Offense
QB - Chris Bonner - Colorado State-Pueblo
RB - Daiquone Ford - Findlay
RB - Anthony Taylor - Ashland
WR - Vernon Johnson - A&M-Commerce
WR - Paul Browning - Colorado State-Pueblo
TE - Cody Roes - Chadron State
OL - Shadow Stokes - Midwestern State
OL - Drew Swartz - Colorado State-Pueblo
OL - Sam Parker - Chadron State
OL - Hayden Janney - Indianapolis
OL - Tevon Conrad - Saginaw Valley State
RS - Klay Fletcher - Indianapolis
PK - Brent Wahle - Ohio Dominican

Second Team Defense
DL - Tevin Moore - A&M-Commerce
DL - Kevin Brewton - Findlay
DL - Di'Andre Harrison - Ohio Dominican
LB - Todd Hacker - Indianapolis
LB - Brett Pasche - Hillsdale
LB - Rush Seaver - Angelo State
LB - Tyler Denson - Colorado Mines
LB - Cody Culbertson - Ohio Dominican
S - Marqui Christian - Midwestern State
S - John Strickland - Indianapolis
CB - Stephan Dickens - Colorado State-Pueblo
CB - C.J. Roberts - Colorado State-Pueblo
CB - Reggie Williams - Grand Valley State
P - Scottie Gallarado - Fort Lewis 

Related Content