© 2023 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

KETR staff awarded for news, sports, production

Texas AP Broadcasters (logo)

Each year, the Texas Associated Press Broadcasters conducts a professionally-judged competition to evaluate stations who subscribe to AP services on a number of different facets of news and information broadcasting. This year, KETR comes away with five first-place awards, four second-place awards, and two honorable mentions.

Categories and Awards


Second place: KETR News Director Mark Haslett.


First place for this football season retrospective by Mark Haslett.

General Assignment Reporting

First and Second place for this story about the Keystone XL pipeline and this one about a proposed toll road, both by Mark Haslett.


First place for the ketr.org website and digital functionality.

Serious Feature

First place for Mark Haslett's piece on Kris Kristofferson, and honorable mention for a story about a local Methodist group that repairs homes, also by Haslett.

Light Feature

Second place for Matt Meinke's production of this episode of Mary Clark, Traveler.

Sports Play-by-play

Honorable mention for the Commerce vs. Pleasant Grove varsity football game, featuring Kevin Jefferies and Brian Ball, produced by Jerrod Knight.

Use of Actuality - Production

First place for Matt Meinke's production of this Grin-N-Bearit episode.

Online/Special Content

Second place for Jerrod Knight's live online coverage on the evening of the fertilizer plant explosion in West, Texas.

Note: There are two radio divisions for the purpose of AP awards. Division A is for stations in major metropolitan areas and Division B is for all other stations. KETR competes in Division B.

Jerrod Knight oversees station programming, news and sports operations, individual and corporate development efforts, business and budget planning and execution, and technical operations.
Related Content