© 2022 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

New Year equals newly elected officials in office

Delta County newly elected officials were sworn into office on Thursday, Jan.1, 2015. Each was present at the noon hour at the district courtroom at the Delta County Courthouse to begin the New Year.

Taking the helm as Delta County Judge was native Jason Murray. Murray was sworn in by Hopkins County Judge Robert Newsom. He is married to Heather and together they have three young children.

Others on the Commissioners Court will be Precinct 2 Gary Anderson, Precinct 3 Loyd Vandygriff and Precinct 4 Mark Brantley joining the remaining Precinct 1 Commissioner Rip Templeton. Brantley has been selected at Judge Pro-Tem, at a previous court meeting.

Being sworn in as the first female Justice of the Peace for Delta County was Ginny Phifer. She was given the honor by retired Hopkins County Justice of Peace Ronny Glossup, her former employer for the last 16 years.

Giving many years of service Delta County and District Clerk Jane Jones was sworn in for her fourth term of service and Delta County Treasurer Bonnie Hobbs was sworn in for her second term both by Hopkins County Judge Robert Newsom.

Related Content