© 2024 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

County selects nominees for DCAD board

The Delta County Commissioners Court selected nominees to be voted on by entities for the Delta County Appraisal District Board. Shawn Murray, Wes Scott and Delta County Judge Jason Murray were accepted by the Court as the nominees.

“I am interested so I can better understand the system – to see how it works and see how we work together,” said Judge Jason Murray. The three will go before the voting entities along with the nominees from the others. The County could nominate up to five people. Delta County Tax Assessor-Collector Dawn Stewart is a non-voting member of the DCAD Board.

The Court accepted the salary of $6,476.00 for the 8th Judicial District Court reporter’s salary and the $5,233.39 of the 62nd Judicial District Court reporter’s salary.

Delta County Sheriff Ricky Smith reported there were 10 inmates in jail due to a rash of probation violations and transports. He was pleased to report his department had cleared a theft in Rattan and were working on a theft ring case. Officer Jeremy Jones returned to work for DCSO on Oct. 13, 2015 hired as a reserve deputy and will be overseeing the inmate work crew.

Judge Murray reported on the status of the courthouse steps as still a work in progress. He appreciated the work of the inmate work crew in help with removing the tiles as a “huge cost saver” to Delta County.

They accepted the minutes and paid the bills. The Commissioners Court will meet again on Monday, Oct. 26 at 9 a.m.