© 2022 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

14 Counties Eligible For Drought Loans

Announcement of drought loans given to Delta County
Cindy Roller
Cooper Review
Announcement of drought loans given to Delta County

Delta County Judge Jason Murray was recently informed by the Texas Department of Public Safety that Delta County has been designated eligible to apply for low-interest emergency disaster loans due to drought conditions.

On February 23, 2017 there were 14 Texas counties designated as “primary natural disaster areas.” This was due to drought conditions that existed since November 1, 2016. These counties included are: Bowie, Camp, Cass, Delta, Franklin, Harrison, Hopkins, Hunt, Lamar, Marion, Morris, Red River, Titus and Upshur.

Contiguous counties that may qualify for FSA emergency loan assistance are: Collin, Franklin, Grayson, Gregg, Kaufman, Panola, Rains, Rockwall, Rusk, Smith, Van Zandt and Wood.

According to a release issued the Secretary has notified the Administrator of the Farm Service Agency (FSA) to immediately make emergency loans available to eligible applicants. In addition, the Small Business Administration (SBA), in an agreement with the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), provides low-interest federal disaster loans to eligible small businesses dependent on farmers and ranchers in counties that have received disaster declaration from the Secretary of Agriculture.

For more information can be obtained by contacting 512-424-7732. Applications online are at SBA’s website at http://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela.

Related Content
  • The 2017 year rang in on Jan. 1 with the new officials taking office in Delta County. The swearing in ceremony was held at the Delta County Courthouse…