88.9 KETR Wins Second Murrow Award In Two Years

Apr 23, 2019

On Tuesday, April 23, the Radio Television Digital News Association announced its winners of the Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards, and 88.9 KETR is proud to be among those named! In Region 6, which includes Texas, this story by former KETR reporter Scott Morgan has received the award in the “News Documentary” category. This submission from 2018 is a hard look at social justice and race in rural America, originally shared as part of a podcast series called ‘Convo’ from

In 2018, the RTDNA chose this story from 2017 that explains Texas’ issues involving feral hogs, also by Scott Morgan, as the Region 6 winner in the category of “Excellence in Sound.”

Scott Morgan worked as a reporter and newsmagazine host on 88.9 KETR from August 2016 until March 2019. After a move eastward, his efforts are now focused on reporting for South Carolina Public Radio.

The RTDNA is a U.S.-based membership organization of radio, television, and online news directors, producers, executives, reporters, students, and educators. Among its functions are the maintenance of journalist ethics and the preservation of the free speech rights of broadcast journalists. The RTDNA is known for the Edward R. Murrow Award, given annually since 1971 for excellence in electronic journalism, and the Paul White Award, presented annually since 1956 as its highest award for lifetime achievement. This year, 4600 entries were submitted for the regional award, and 723 awards were made for work that came from 309 news outlets in 48 states.

Link to this year’s winning entry:

Link to last year’s winning entry:

Link to ‘Convo’ from ketr.org