© 2023 88.9 KETR
Public Radio for Northeast Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Commerce ISD appoints 15-member school safety committee

Commerce ISD, Facebook

Commerce ISD Superintendent Charlie Alderman says a 15-member school safety committee has been appointed to respond to a required state safety audit and and to make recommendations for additional safety improvements.

The superintendent says two of the members are school board members Gabe Wittkopf and Wayne "Doc" Pierce, who each have law-enforcement backgrounds. The Commerce ISD will apply for a grant from the $100 million dollars made available by the Texas Education Agency to make safety improvements following the school shooting in Uvalde. The Commerce ISD will hold a groundbreaking Monday, August 8 for the new Commerce Middle School, to be built on the north side of Commerce High School.

John Mark Dempsey is the host of the public interest program The Blacklands Café from KETR News. Dempsey is also the play-by-play announcer for Commerce Tigers Football on 88.9 FM and on ketr.org.