Review Honored By Cooper ISD

Sep 14, 2017

Media representatives from more than 420 Texas newspapers, radio and television stations, and online publications were named to the 2016-17 Media Honor Roll by their local school districts. Sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB), the Media Honor Roll program recognizes reporters statewide for fair, accurate, and balanced reporting of news about public schools.

Selections for honors by the Cooper Independent School District included Cooper Review and its editor Cindy Roller, who has earned this title for the last six years as editor.

Cooper ISD Superintendent Denicia Hohenberger gave thanks to  Roller for covering the news for their students.

Also receiving recognition was The Paris News and its publisher J.D. Davidson, and The Way Radio 99.7 and 100.9 FM Heather Hutchens.

Criteria for the district selection included the media representative’s efforts to get to know the superintendent, board president, and the district’s mission and goals; report school news in a fair, accurate, and balanced manner; give a high profile to positive news about schools; visit the schools; and maintain a policy of no surprises by sharing information with school officials.

The only other district in this area to select media for this honor was Sulphur Springs ISD. They honored Channel 18 TV – Doug Haston, – Blake Weir, KSCH Star Country 95.9 Radio – Dave Kirkpatrick, KSST Radio – Enola Gay Mathews, KSST Radio/Channel 18 TV – Don Julian and Jimmy Rogers, and Sulphur Springs News-Telegram Faith Huffman.